On May 29th, 2017, our organization honoured an inspirational and exceptional Canadian as our honorary Peace Patron. This year, the Mosaic Institute was pleased to recognize the outstanding work that His Worship Naheed Nenshi, Mayor of Calgary, has done to promote peace, reconciliation and mutual understanding across communities in Canada. This year’s Peace Patron Dinner was particularly special due to our celebration of the Mosaic Institute’s 10th anniversary. This evening would not have been possible without the generosity of the countless individuals and organizations that supported the Mosaic Institute’s work throughout the last decade. We look forward to the next 10 years to be as productive, as we continue to work toward a more just Canada and peaceful world.The dinner was another sold-out evening at The Carlu with over 450 guests in attendance. The evening began with an exuberant performance from the talented children of the Marilyn Perkins Chamber Ensemble from Sistema Toronto. The Dinner MC, Zarqa Nawaz, hosted the evening with her characteristic wit and humour. After her welcome, the attendees were treated to a video greeting from the Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, as well as remarks from the Co-Founding Chair of the Mosaic Institute, Vahan Kololian, it’s Executive Director, Bernie M. Farber, and His Worship Mayor John Tory, Honorary Chair of the Dinner Tribute Committee. This was followed by a presentation celebrating Mosaic’s 10th anniversary and its talented alumni that are all now making a difference in their respective fields.

The dinner concluded with a characteristically eloquent speech by Mayor Nenshi, where he appealed to the inner humanity and heart of every guest with his emphasis on the universal nature of kindness. He set the tone of his remarks with a recollection of how he was honoured by the Blackfoot people when Elder Pete Standing Alone named him “A’paistootsiipsii,” or “Clan Leader.” If we fashion our actions in the image of these historic peoples and stay cognizant of our past as Canadians, Nenshi stressed, we can address our society’s most troubling issues in a spirit of generosity and mutual understanding. The mayor ended his speech by ordaining that openness, diversity, compassion and tolerance are the pillars of unity and strength, not weakness.

The Peace Patron Dinner enables the Mosaic Institute to raise significant funds to support the work we undertake. The generosity of all our supporters enables us to continue to work to:

  • encourage the respectful dialogue and engagement of difference as the solution to many of the issues and conflicts that divide us;
  • conduct research that is thoughtful and rigorous; and
  • act as a national platform through which the voices and perspectives of young, globally-minded Canadians can be heard.

We are deeply grateful for the invaluable support that we have received that has made this event such an incredible success. Please click here to view the evening’s photobook.

We thank the following for standing with us:
His Worship Mayor Naheed Nenshi of Calgary
The Hon. Yasir Naqvi, Attorney-General of Ontario
Renu Mandhane, Chief Commissioner of the Ontario Human Rights Commission
His Worship Mayor John Tory, Toronto
Her Worship Mayor Bonnie Crombie, Toronto
Her Worship Mayor Linda Jeffrey, Brampton
President and Vice-Chancellor Mohammed Lachemi, Ryerson University
President and Vice-Chancellor Mamdouh Shoukri of York University
Incoming-President and Vice-Chancellor Rhonda Lenton of York University

Dinner Tribute Committee Members

Mayor John Tory, Toronto

Dave Arnot, Chief of Human Rights Saskatchewan
Mayor Charlie Clark, Saskatchewan
Mayor Bonnie Crombie, Mississauga
Mayor Denis Coderre, Montreal
Senator Art Eggleton
Mayor Micheal Fougere, Regina
The Hon. Paul Godfrey, C.M.
The Rt. Hon. Paul Martin, P.C.
The Hon. David Peterson, P.C., Q.C., O.Ont
Mayor Gregor Roberston, Vancouver
Mayor Jim Watson, Ottawa

Dinner Committee

Elizabeth Levitt (Chair)
Yusra Siddiquee (Board)
Susie Kololian (Advisory Council)
Isabelle Fish
Paul Noble
Bernie M. Farber (Staff)
Wendy Sung-Aad (Staff)

The 2017 Peace Patron Dinner is held under the Patronage of

BMO Financial Group

and made possible through the financial support of the following:
Ambassador Level Supporters:

Imperial Capital
Robert and Ellen Eisenberg
Simon and Isabelle Fish
Rudi and Jennifer Fronk
Vahan & Susie Kololian
McCarthy Tetrault
Kenneth Morell & Juliette Chow
Reeta Roy

Benefactor Level Supporters:

Mohammad & Najla Al Zaibak
Bennett Jones LLP
Canadian Pacific Rail
The Hon. Baljit Chadha, P.C. & Roshi Chadha
Charles Coffey
Michael Dan, O.C. & Amira Dan
Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
Dentons Canada LLP
Ecclesiastical Insurance Office PLC
Martin Golberg
Blake and Belinda Goldring
Richard and Donna Ivey
Koffer Boyman Families
Lenczner Slaght Royce Smith Griffin LLP
The Rt. Hon. Paul Martin, P.C.
James Meekison and Carolyn Keystone
Nadir & Shabin Mohamed
Norton Rose Fulbright
Ryerson University
Gary & Donna Slaight
Dundee & Patricia Staunton
Stikeman Elliot LLP
TD Bank Group
University of Toronto
Henry Wolfond
York University and Osgoode Hall Law School

Tribute Supporters:

Keith Harradence & Susan Ormiston
Yervant & Nairy Shahinian

Mitchell Cohen & Janice Lewis
Empire Industries
Greg & Susan Guichon
Kathleen Vesely

Our special thanks to the following for their contribution to the evening:

The Colour Field, Hilary Doyle, Hodo Hussein, Damian Kearns, Elizabeth Levitt, Megan McGillicuddy, Samir Mourani, Zarqa Nawaz, Ahila Poologaindran, Sistema Toronto, St. Joseph’s Communication, Philip Street, and TCGPR.

We also thank our Board of Directors and our Advisory Council Members for their unwavering support of the Mosaic Institute. Our appreciation to the Mosaic Institute’s staff: Bernie M. Farber, Wendy Sung-Aad, and Rachel Mansell for their dedication and hard work as supported that evening by our volunteers and Alumni: Sayjon Ariyarathnam, Matteo Aloi, Widya Fitri, Mariam Hamaoui, Luula Hassan, Abdi Hersi, Casimir Legrand, Elena Lifshits-Carrera, Jordan Mansell, Dalu Ndlovu, Mohit Pramanik, Anna Press, Devraj Ray, Khurram Shamim, Akshay Sharma, Nabeel Shaikh, Shifa Tauqir, Natalia Valencia, Lorenzo Vargas, and Samuel Wollenberg.

If this event inspires you to engage further with the Mosaic Institute, we invite you to:

We look forward to welcoming you at future Mosaic Institute events.