The Mosaic Institute
Ways to Support

2019 Peace Patron Award


The Mosaic Institute 2019 Peace Patron:

General (Ret’d) John de Chastelain, CC, CMM, CD, CH

text From Left: Vahan Kololian, Co-founder and Chair of the Mosaic Institute, Her Honour Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, John de Chastelain, 2019 Peace Patron, Akaash Maharaj, CEO of the Mosaic Institute

On 17 June 2019, at the Carlu in Toronto, a gathering of The Mosaic Institute and friends payed tribute to General John de Chastelain as the Institute’s 2019 honorary Peace Patron. Over 250 guests braved through the Toronto Raptors’ celebrations to join us in this special evening.

John de Chastelain follows our distinguished Award recipients: the Hon Hugh Segal; Louise Arbour; the Hon Senator Murray Sinclair; His Worship Naheed Nenshi; and Edward Burtynsky. We honour John de Chastelain because he has lived out the creed that the true glory of nations lies not in waging war, but in ending them.

Click here to view for our video about John de Chastelain

View additional resources